Attendance, dates & minutes

Student Union Council 2024

The Student Union Council (SUC) is the peak decision-making body of the RMIT University Student Union (RUSU). They have the same types of duties and legal responsibilities as the Board of an organisation or company and the SUC members receive specific training and professional support to help them fulfil their legal and financial responsibilities.

The SUC is where your 28 elected representatives decide on events, activities, services, and campaigns to provide for students at RMIT. The SUC also makes the decisions about how RUSU runs as an organisation. RUSU is truly a 100% student run organisation.

SUC meetings happen monthly, with additional special meetings held as required. The dates for the current Student Union Council are included in the table below.  Unless otherwise posted, SUC meetings start at 6pm. Any RMIT student is able to attend meetings of the SUC. Like any group organising an event, RUSU needs advance RSVPs so we can plan appropriately.

To notify RUSU that you wish to attend an SUC meeting you simply need to email the RUSU General Secretary at least 48 hours in advance of the meetings start time at Advance notice is required to allow RUSU to manage any logistics, e.g. capacity limits and other requirements.

Summary of SUC Minutes

SUC Representative Attendance Record

The attendance of your elected representatives at these meetings is recorded below.

Table Key:

P Present at meeting
PL Present (late)
AP Absent with apology
A Absent
LQ Left during the proceedings of meeting causing the meeting to lose quorum*
NA There has been a subsequent change of the RUSU representative and therefore these dates are not applicable to the stated rep.

*Quorum is the minimum numbers of people needed for a meeting to continue and make decisions. If someone leaves mid-meeting and causes a meeting to have to end early because they have lost quorum this section will be labelled LQ and be shaded red).


Student Representative Name Position 21 Nov
7 Dec
24 Jan
15 Feb
27 Mar
17 Apr
29 May
19 Jun
Ella Byrne SUC President P P P P P P P
Dhweep Shah SUC General Secretary P P P P P P P
Lily Plummer Communications Officer P P P P P P P
Amandi Peiris Activities Officer P AP P P P P P
Harrison Lal Clubs & Societies Officer P P P P P P P
Koushik Mukherjee Education Officer P P P P P P P
Fin Bray Welfare Officer P P P P P P P
Aster Yu Sustainability Officer P P P P P P P
Haiting (Ada) Lu International Officer P P P P P P P
Bhuvan Sharma Postgraduate Officer P P P P P P P
Vivienne Balint Queer Officer P P AP P P P P
Matthew Hayes Queer Officer P P P P P P P
Tiah Worley Indigenous Officer P P P P P P P
Ruby Kelly-Guthrie Indigenous Officer P AP P AP AP P P
Saumya Sindhu Women's Officer P P P P P P P
Samuel Coombs Disabilities and Carers Officer P P P P P P P
Wenxin Yan General Representative P PL P P P P P
Gaurav Harichandan General Representative AP P P P P AP P
Amelia Christie General Representative AP A P P P AP AP
James McVicar General Representative AP AP P P AP P P
Suzee Ngo General Representative NA NA NA NA NA P P
Yoan Theodore Vocational Education Officer P P P P P P P
Donal Darwin City Coordinator P P P P P P P
Ryan Wong City Representative P P P P P P P
Dulan Ariyatilaka Bundoora Coordinator P P P P P P P
Nidhi Bhatnagar Bundoora East Representative PL AP P A PL P P
Keenan Dinh Bundoora West Representative P AP P P AP AP P
Vaani Saraswat Brunswick Coordinator P P P P P P P
Olivia McQuie Brunswick Representative AP P P P P P AP
Silvia Comerford Former General Representative AP AP AP AP AP NA NA NA NA NA NA NA